Where do I start?

How do you start your first blog post, an introduction, and details of what the blog is about or drive straight in? Well all I can say at this point is that is that it’s going be my thoughts on photography and how it influences me and my life. I guess as a result you will get to know about me personally as photography is a very big part of my life.
My name is Simon but I prefer to be called Si, I am 50 years young and have the honour and privilege to live in the beautiful town of Matlock in the equally stunning county of Derbyshire. I have been wrapped up in a photographic journey since late 2009 and it has guided me every step of the way since. My photographic journey has been a lover, a mistress, a companion and a best friend since I took the first step.
It has been a journey of highs and lows, twists and turns but a journey I would not change for anything. I have learnt so much about myself and the world around me through my photographic adventures. I find soloist from being behind my camera, it is the one place I can be me and at one with my thoughts. We live in a world of constant distraction, news, information and demands, social media, the internet and the world’s troubles visual from every angle and every moment of the day. None of that has a place when I am behind my camera yet ironically I have to turn to that world in order to full fill each step of my journey.

My photography is about me and for me first and foremost so why share it?  Yes I could just keep my photography to myself and my computer but what is the point in that? I could not also share in the journey of others in such isolation and I get a lot of pleasure and satisfaction from watching people develop their passion for taking photographs. I like to think that people who view my photographs feel the same way but I am respectful if they do not.
That is one of the wonderful things about the photographic art is that it is unique to everyone, no two photographs are the same even if the subject matter is. Each photograph is a moment in time that is special to the photographer. A moment that can be created in an instant or built up of hours, days, weeks, months or even years, a life time even. How we all travel along that creative path is different for everyone.
The start of my photographic journey was heavily influenced by the depression and anxiety that greatly occupied my life at the time and still does. I was feeling consumed and overwhelmed and needed some space and time that I could call my own to deal with it. Photography gave me that space and time.  I also find talking about my journey and expressing myself helpful too.

Over the coming days, months and years I will share my thoughts, my journey and photographs old and new.

Until the next time take care.

Si x

Leave a Reply

